So… I need a list of these special rights.

I was reading about the ex-gay movement today (btw for those who don’t already realize that the ex-gay movement was totally discredited and has been shamed since most everyone who actually started the movement re-came out again later on and said it was all a hoax… but for some reason people still believe it lol… anyway) and a quote really stuck out to me as both interesting and tragic.  Naturally, this spawned my next blog post as the whole idea of the “gay agenda” hits close to home.  Anyway, the quote went as follows:

“And then in the gay community, I don’t know that the entire gay community would doubt that change is possible, but the mantra that comes out from those who lead the gay community is that people can’t change. Because if we can, that really invalidates their story, it invalidates the special-rights status they’re seeking.”

The quote is from an interview of Alan Chambers by the oh so appropriately named, Focus on the Family (apparently gays aren’t part of families and we don’t make our own families, we just “recruit”).  Anyway, so aside from the complete inane bullshit he was spouting about the ex-gays (don’t even get me started on this as that’s like saying I’m an ex-white because I tell myself over and over that I’m actually Korean) the special-rights piece really stood out for me.  I always wonder what these special rights are when people talk about the gay-agenda, as if we are trying to become some class of super-citizens who have all of these magic powers.  Whenever I question people about these special rights, they always come back to things that are basic human rights for other people.  Apparently when you openly admit to being gay, civil rights become special rights.

I read a great NY Times article last year about the costs of being gay.  Mind you, this article completely leaves out the social costs of being gay and simply focuses on the strictly financial pieces.  Straight people don’t have to worry about being killed for who they happen to love; they don’t have to worry about being fired from their job for loving the “wrong” person.  I’ve known several people who were killed simply because someone didn’t like the fact that they were gay.  It’s a shame that myself, or anyone else, has to go through life being afraid that someone else may decide to harm them in any way, but it’s the social cost of being part of the LGBT community.

After reading the comments about these special rights I’m demanding for being gay, I just thought it was important for me to share about the financial costs of living as a gay person in America.  I don’t have the link on here anymore… but I’ll keep searching and post it later.  One of the major pieces that stuck out to me was the costs of a hypothetical couple.  All of these costs can depend on the couples employer, insurance plans, etc.  Although the number can fluctuate, you can at least see a baseline for how costly it can be to be gay.

In our worst case, the couple’s lifetime cost of being gay was $467,562. But the number fell to $41,196 in the best case for a couple with significantly better health insurance, plus lower taxes and other costs.

These numbers will vary, depending on a couple’s income and circumstance. Gay couples earning, say, $80,000, could have health insurance costs similar to our hypothetical higher-earning couple, but they might well owe more in income taxes than their heterosexual counterparts. For wealthy couples with a lot of assets, on the other hand, the cost of being gay could easily spiral into the millions.

There are countless tax benefits, estate planning benefits and retirement benefits (social security, IRA contributions, etc) to being in a straight couple.  Why does the expectation that these rights should also be available to me mean that I’m actually demanding special rights?  Please send me a list of the special rights as I would like to see them in writing and then I will follow-up with you as to why I need them too.

~ by prettyprogressive on 09/02/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
