Defining Religion

I’m not going to lie, I’ve been in my fair share of spats about religion with facebook as the catalyst.  Normally its in response to some article I’ve posted or a comment I made on article Jen posted, and in the end we both get defriended by someone.  But earlier this week  someone I had known in college updated his status to read

“Atheism: the belief that happiness is not possible.”

… I mean really, how could I resist?  There were a few of his closer friend’s comments already attached encouraging the little jab so I responded

“Christianity: the belief that happiness is only possible through having an imaginary friend”

What follows are the definitions other freethinkers came up with in response to my facebook friend.  I hope they will brighten you day the way they did mine.

“Religion: elitism through common bond”

“Religion: the belief that happiness is possible through misogyny, oppression, war, and institutionalized hatred”

“Religion: having a superiority complex about your inferiority complex”

“Religion: the belief that happiness is make believe”

~ by prettyprogressive on 12/05/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
